Dane Cook’s “I Did My Best – Greatest Hits”

Posted: December 1, 2010 in Comedy
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Allow me to start off this post by telling you I’m a fan of Dane Cook. Always have been. A few years ago, when Dane started gaining some crazy notoriety the inevitable happened: backlash. Huge backlash. Angry, angry backlash. So if you’re one of those people who hate Cook’s comedy with a passion equal only to that of the earth’s magma core, well…you’re not gonna agree with this review.

I Did My Best – Greatest Hits truly is a collection of some of Cook’s greatest bits. The project spans all of his previous albums and at times it’s a bit jarring to hear the difference in sound from an intimate club setting to his show at Madison Square Gardens. Of course, the classics are here: “Not So Kool-Aid” and “Heist/Monkey” still crack me up just as much as the first time I heard them.

This collection really shows off Dane’s love of the English language, his mastery of inflection, and his manic energy that only comes when you’re doing something you truly love to do. Dane isn’t just a comedian, he’s a storyteller extraordinaire. Like David Cross or Bill  Cosby, the humor isn’t found in the one-two setup/punch combination but in the process of pointing out every nuance of every detail along the way.

Sure, there are some tracks I had hoped would be included (I’m still a fan of his Tarantino-esque story-out-of-sequence magic he pulled in “The Wall,” his Walgreen’s escapade he talks about on Retaliation) but considering this project weighs in with an impressive 38 tracks – five of which are previously unreleased bits – I can’t really complain.

If you’re a fan of Cook’s, then this is a nice way to re-visit some of your favorites. If you’re not familiar with his work as a stand-up, this is a great place to start. And if you think Dane Cook is the worst thing to happen to the world of comedy, I probably haven’t changed your mind, and now you hate me too.

I did my best.

***
I Did My Best – Greatest Hits is available from Comedy Central Records

Leave a Reply

